top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie Keenan

Amazing Support

Well, Thanksgiving seemed like a good time for an update. I could list every thing I am grateful for, but lets just make it simple. I am so grateful to be here! When they found my brain tumor the outcome could have been even worse than it was. It could have been inoperable and in that case I really might not even be here right now, almost 9 months later. So, I am blessed to be alive and fighting. I also couldn’t be more thankful for all of the support I have been shown, I feel so lucky! I have an army right along side of me. There are people who help and remind me to be strong on the days that are hard. This may be my diagnosis but I am well aware that it affects everyone around me. I am sorry to bring a bit of chaos into your lives and to ask for continued positive thoughts and prayers, but it is all I can do. I will continue to need it because this will be a fight I will never give up on, and I can only hope it will last for years. In the process, I will never be able to thank people enough, or even feel like a thank you is all they deserve. I have been learning to more graciously accept the help offered, but just know my simple words of thank you really mean so much more. From the bottom of my heart I am beyond grateful.


Speaking of that support, I was absolutely blown away by everyone who came out for the Brain Tumor 5K back in October.The weather was so awful but the day turned out amazing. I am sure everyone would have preferred to be somewhere else staying warm and dry, but people showed up! Friends and family were there, walking right beside me showing me the unconditional support that is in my corner. Those are the moments that matter. I actually got through the walk without having to rest ☺ and as a team we raised over $2,000 for brain

cancer research. So amazing!



Now, the health update. My most recent MRI scan was Nov 13th and the scan was good. There had been no change in the imaging and that is all we can ask for. My doctor said “whatever you are doing, keep doing it.” My blood work has remained stable as well. I am able to stay on the low dose Chemo on a consistent schedule of 5 days on 9 days off. That will still remain the plan until my next scan on January 6th. I am happy to have a plan set through the Holidays. Hopefully things remain uneventful as far as my health. I am looking forward to a wonderful weekend beginning with a great Thanksgiving and then a fun weekend including some Gopher Football and a Tailgating Benefit in our honor. Again, I am humbled by the generosity of others. It is amazing how kind people can be. All the work that was put into setting everything up, I just appreciate it so much. A tough part about cancer is that, money does matter. There are medical bills, but also just regular bills. I’m not able to work a normal schedule and I think my doctor is a bit surprised I am working at all. But, while I am able to, I am trying to live my life and make memories and that amazing generosity truly helps! I am always overwhelmed by my emotions these day, and lately, I have been feeling happy. That happiness is due to all of this amazing support. So, to all of you…Thank you!

286 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page