top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie Keenan

First Follow-up Appointment

I had my first post-treatment scan and appointment yesterday. I am happy to announce it went really well! Per my Neuro-oncologist “we are trending in the right direction.” For my type of cancer, how well the treatment is working is monitored with MRI scans. They inject a contrast dye during the MRI, and that dye will interact with any cancer cells and they “light up” or appear white on the MRI. It was so awesome to see such a small white area. It was clear to us that there was a difference and the area of concern is now less. The treatment is working!!I feel like I can finally breathe! This is the first confirmation since since starting treatment a couple months ago that it is in fact actually working. It makes me feel good and strong, like this is going to be a long fight for me as opposed to something that is going to take me out quickly. I welcome a long hard battle, because I’ve got this!


Next steps are 12 rounds of chemo, 5 days of the pills then 23 days off. The dosage is much higher, almost triple the amount I was on previously. Hopefully my body can tolerate it as well as before. I get started with my first round on Monday…I am ready to rock and roll again! Scanxiety will arrive again in 8 weeks, but for now I am taking and enjoying the the winning news!!


308 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page