top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie Keenan

Treatment Begins

4/6/19 – Well, I finished up my first week of radiation! I guess it went as well as expected, for not knowing what to expect :) It is an interesting thing. Luckily it isn’t painful, but it isn’t exactly comfortable either. I get to wear a mask that was molded to my head. My eyes and nose are left open but it goes over my mouth and then locks into the back head piece. It basically locks my head down onto the table so I am unable to move, super fun. The good part is that it doesn’t take very long, maybe 10 minutes. If it were more I think I would get that claustrophobic feeling. Oh and of course when your told not to do something its all you can think about, so I get paranoid I’m going to move. I pretty much breathe and swallow as little as possible :) but hey, only 5 weeks to go! The radiation treatment is 5 days a week for 6 weeks. I’ve totally got this! In the back of my mind however, I am very nervous to hear that it isn’t responding to treatment. I just need to know that it is. I need to know that this treatment plan that has been set is working. I think I will be anxious and full of nerves until I hear those words for the first time. Normally Chemo would have started at the same time, but my bad luck streak continued and I got a sinus infection a couple weeks ago. This put me on a 10-day course of antibiotics delaying chemo for a week. Total bummer because it would be nice to get started with everything, but chemo started tonight. It is pills that I am able to take at home and before bed so hopefully I will sleep through most of the side effects. That is the hope/idea anyway. My husband and son stood by me tonight and toasted my water glass as I took the first pills. We said cheers to the next step for me getting better, I am trying to only think positive!! So everyone else should have a cocktail for me tonight because treatment is fully on!!



205 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page