top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie Keenan

Update, A couple weeks done!


I am now through 1 week of chemo and 2 weeks of radiation. I would say I am doing pretty good. I can tell my body reaches that worn out feeling a little more quickly, but I have still been able to do most things. I do notice the nausea from the chemo but luckily the anti-nausea pills I have do the trick for now to help with that! I am lucky that I get to just take my chemo pills before bed at night. I think it helps to sleep off any other side effects. So far things haven’t been as bad as I thought they might be. I was warned ahead of time that week 3 of radiation is when I might start to feel the effects a little more. This is also the time when I should start to notice the hair loss. It might either be just the location where the radiation treatment is or due to the chemo as well, it could thin and come out in patches. It doesn’t happen the same for everyone, so I just have to wait and see. It will be exciting, will I be able to live in a messy bun or shave it off?? Stay tuned ;)


I did have an exciting moment this past week, I drove for the first time since before surgery. It was nice, I felt like I had some freedom again. After surgery I was left with what they call a “field cut” in my vision field. It’s a little tough to explain but I will give it a try. The cut is in my peripheral vision, so when I am looking straight ahead I can’t see what is down on my lower right side. Basically, if I put my hands out in from of me at shoulder height and look straight ahead, I cannot see my right hand. I can see my left just fine. Since it is in my peripheral if I move my eyes to focus on that area I can then see it. It’s weird I know. It really has just taken me awhile to adjust to it, but now I am feeling much more comfortable, which is good as it appears it may be permanent. Oh it still annoys me from time to time, but I’ve learned to adapt and the last thing I waited to do was head back out on the road. But, I finally did it and it went great! I hope and pray that the rest of the entire journey goes the same way. If there is a set back, I just need to adapt, adjust and move forward.


136 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page